I wish I’d written this:

the book is on the table

When I think about the history of the British Empire I, like most people I’m sure, tend to think of our exploits in the usual places – Asia, Africa, the Middle-East, Australasia and North America.

But South America? Well, I’d never really thought about us Brits having anything to do with the continent. I mean it was a continent of Spanish and Portuguese colonies right?

Well, yes, apart from British Guiana it was. Not that deterred us of course.

British involvement in the continent stretches as far back to the likes of Francis Drake and Walter Raleigh and, as one can imagine, they took a typically straightforward approach to international relations (i.e. robbing the Spanish of their loot).

View original post 963 more words

